Pre-Internship Day 3

Busy Busy Busy

Yesterday was a great day! I am still getting used to how busy Kinders are and how tired I am by the time the last bell rings and we are taking students out to their parents, bus, or daycare workers. I need to start working out or something to increase my energy levels! (like that’s ever going to happen…)

I did another  math lesson this week because my co-op asked Chloe and I to focus on math and literacy. I found an activity called Build a Pizza. The kids loved it, and I loved the idea of it, however there are some things I would change up for next time. First thing, I would not use an activity that has 200 little pieces to cut out and put magnets on the back. I got in some quality Netflix time while preparing, but there were some issues with the craft of the work. When the students were using the ingredient pieces the little magnets kept falling off and caused some pieces to stick to each other and create a mini-shmozzle. There were also two particular little ones who were peeling the sticky magnets off the back of the pieces on purpose. Overall I think this was a successful lesson. The students loved it and were connecting numbers to objects, which was the goal!

My PD goal was communication (because I accidentally switched it up last week) and I feel I did pretty well. Apparently I say “Ok” and “you guys” a lot. So that is something to be aware of. I’m excited to get to a week where I can focus on classroom management and engaging students who are off task. There are a few students in these Kinder classes that get distracted and don’t have any interest in doing what everybody else is doing. Sometimes they don’t have any interest in listening to me, looking at me, or even acknowledging that I am trying to talk to them at all! I’m learning how to encourage students to participate (Don’t ask, just tell) and how to communicate with students who are in their own world. Oh the challenges….!

Leave a Reply

